Noelle Healy & Deirdre Murphy Start for Dublin Ladies 2013-07-12 14:49:00

Dublin Ladies senior boss Paul Gilheaney has announced his Dublin team to face Meath in this Saturdays TG4 Leinster senior final.

Reigning champions, Dublin will take to the pitch in Dr Cullen Park with the same starting 15 that defeated Kildare earlier this month by 3-17 to 1-12 in the Leinster semi-final. 

Second half substitutes versus Kildare, Orlagh Egan and Elaine Kelly will have to be content with a place on the Dubs bench despite both players having done admirably when introduced against the Lilywhites.

The key to winning Saturdays Provincial decider could well boil down to the impact of each sides bench especially if the temperatures are to remain in the high 20's as forecasted. This area is where Dublin may have the slight edge on neighbours Meath with experienced players such as Egan, Kelly, Siobhan Woods and Kim Flood chopping at the bit for a crack at the Royal County.

The two sides last meet in championship fare at the same phase last season with Dublin defeating Meath by 3-9 to 1-6, Sinead Aherne, Amy Ring and Natalia Hyland the three goal heroines for Dublin while Jenny Rispin was the goal scorer for Meath. Aherne, Hyland and Rispin will all feature on Saturday while Ring is currently in the USA.

Dublin will be weary of Meath having suffered a shock defeat at the hands of the Royals back in 2011 when Meath dumped the then reigning All Ireland and Leinster Champions out the back door with a historic one point win in Portmarnock.

Meath en route to this year's provincial decider have taken the scalps of Westmeath and a much fancied Laois while Dublin had just the one game versus Kildare.

Meath are looking to dump the provincial monkey off their royal backs having suffered defeats in the last two Leinster finals, (2011) Laois 2-8, Meath 1-10, (2012) Dublin 3-09, Meath 1-06. Meanwhile Dublin will be hoping to bag their fifth Leinster title in six seasons having lifted the Mary Ramsbottom Cup in 2008, 2009, 2010 and 2012. Laois broke the sequence when they claimed the title in 2011 with a 2-08 to 1-10 win over Meath.

Declan Drake of FM104 will provide LIVE radio updates from the game plus updates will be available on Twitter @dublinladiesg

Dublin Ladies Senior Team v Meath:

1.       Cliodhna O Connor - Naomh Mearnog

2.       Rachel Ruddy - Ballyboden St Endas

3.       Siobhan McGrath - Thomas Davis

4.       Deirdre Murphy - St Brigids

5.       Martha Byrne - Cuala

6.       Sinead Goldrick - Foxrock Cabinteely (Captain)

7.       Sinead Finnegan - Fingallians

8.       Denise Masterson - Naomh Mearnog

9.       Amy McGuinness - Fingallians

10.   Natalia Hyland - Ballyboden St Endas

11.   Niamh McEvoy - St Sylvesters

12.   Noelle Healy - St Brigids

13.   Lyndsay Peat - Parnells

14.   Sinead Aherne - St Sylvesters

15.   Lyndsay Davey - Skerries Harps

16.   Emma Merrigan - Parnells

17.   Rachel Byrne - Clanna Gael Fontenoy

18.   Laura McGahan- Fingallians

19.   Leah Caffrey - Na Fianna

20.   Sarah Quinn - Na Fianna

21.   Elaine Kelly - St Brigids

22.   Orlagh Egan - Na Fianna

23.   Siobhan Woods - Raheny

24.   Ciara Ruddy - Ballyboden St Endas

25.   Kim Flood - Clanna Gael Fontenoy

26.   Emma McDonagh - Foxrock Cabinteely

27.   Sarah O Brien - Ballyboden St Endas

28.   Denise McKenna - Fingallians


Paul Gilheaney (St Vincents)

Mark Fitzpatrick (Parnells)

Anne O Mahony (Clontarf)

Vincent Rooney (St Vincents)

Frankie Byrne (Clontarf)

Kathleen Colreavy (Naomh Mearnog)

Joanne McCabe (Physio)

St Brigids GAA Club,
Russell Park, Navan Road, Dublin 15