Go Ahead Junior 6 North All County Football Champions

Congratulations to the Junior 6 Footballers who won the Championship Final at home against Fingallians on Sunday 19 November 2023.
In what was the proverbial game of two halves; it was Fingallians who had wind advantage in the first half who led 0-04 point to 0-01 at half time however the wind was causing trouble for both sides.  A more youthful Fingallians were dangerous in attack but did not convert their chances with Paddy Brady marauding around the middle third to great effect for Fingallians snuffing out St. Brigid’s attacks. However the St. Brigid’s lads kept their composure and weathered the storm.  There was a large and vocal home support who cheered a wonderful James O’Connell curling effort over the bar close to the end of the half only for the ball to be called back for a free kick which was duly dispatched by Warren Finnegan.
In the second half the introductions of Alan Nolan and John Dunning paid off with St. Brigid’s slowly edging there way back on the score board and taking control in the middle of the field. There was no panic as Alan Nolan began to have a huge influence in attack and in a very tight match his superbly taken goal with around 10 minutes proved pivotal in easing the tension on the sideline and in the crowd.  James O’Connell rounded off a fine display with a goal in injury time to settle it. Finagallians replied with a goal of their own deep into injury time. When the final whistle went there was great celebrations by young and old!
The final score was St. Brigid’s 2-08 Fingallians 1-05. Scores by W. Finnegan (0-03), Alan Nolan (1-01), James O’Connell (1-00), Brian Donavan, Brian Moran, John Dunning and Noel Doonan (all 0-01)
The team comprised of 1. Martin Clavin, 2. Kevin Brennan, 3. Robbie McInerney, 4. Stephen Dunning, 5. Craig Kilmurray, 6. Brian Moran, 7. Sean Breslin, 8. James o Connell, 9. Seamus Bonner, 10. Liam Ryan, 11. Brian Donavan, 12. Warren Finnegan, 13. Brian “Stan” Kevlihan, 14. Michael “mono” Connolly, 15. Noel Doonan; Subs Alan Nolan, John “stress” Dunning, Conor McShane, John Dalton, Cathal o brien, Niall Ryan, Kevin Bonner, Matthew Coffey, John Cooper. Injured players – Diarmuid Breslin, Wayne Vickery, Adam Hales and David Buckley.
The Manager was Willy Tyrell who was assisted by selectors Martin Clavin, Brian Kevlihan. While the real background work was done by Courtney Abbey, Carla o Reilly and Denise O’Connor.